Blah and other stuff

– Sometimes I can’t tell the difference between not feeling well and being depressed. Such is the case this week. I returned to work today…Amy is out of town…and…

– We got our stimulus check from the gov. today. Amy is out of town so I wonder…

– I’m so blessed to have a friend like John Dobbs. He is an enabler. He enables me to see some good in myself and my gifts. He believes in me…He cheers me on…He invents ways for me to use my gifts. We need more people like him in the kingdom. Ministers can be a strange lot-the gifts they see in other ministers are sometimes seen as a threat. That has never been the case with John. He broadcasts the gifts he sees in others and does all he can to empower them to use their talents to the utmost. Like Jesus would.

–  I want to thank John and Maggy for including me in the service for their son. It wasn’t an honor I expected but one for which I am very grateful. What a gift when a mom and dad ask someone like me to say a few things at their only son’s funeral. I will never forget it.

– Speaking of the funeral- Dusty Rush was awesome. Tender.  Compassionate.  Real.  I wish you could have seen him. He was a true minister to the Dobbs family. Conway is blessed to have him and Crystal.

– I think the service came out as it did because of the man John asked to co-ordinate everything. His name is Al Sturgeon. His gentle, humble spirit set the tone for everyone who spoke.

– I sat between Dusty Rush (cool) and Bill Collins(cool too). Bill, I love you and was glad to see you. Like John you are one of my cheer leaders. Thanks.

– I’m thinking about going on the Jenny Craig Diet. Not that I need to lose weight. It’s just that their new spokesperson, Valerie Bertinelli, has convinced me that I need to be size “lovin’ life.” Like her. Afterall, I do have that stimulus check I’ve gotta spend and I’m thinking that Jenny Craig is probably cheaper than Prozac. I might even have enough money left-over to get Amy a new power tool for “her” next birthday. Which is on May 8th. I mean September 21st.

–  John Dobbs needs to write a book

4 Comments

  1. Thanks for the kind words Craig. I’m looking forward to youth rallying together in October! I’m pretty sure we’ll enjoy it more than the teenagers will. Remember when youth rally speakers were cool? Times have changed.

  2. Preachers threats? Who us? Nah!

    Hey I have blog again (as if you cared). It is at: http://heyuguys.wordpress.com/ You may want to read my comments about the funeral there though.

  3. Craig, after hearing your comments and what Terry said on Sunday, I wish I could have been there for the funeral. It sounds like it was amazing.

    As for the other stuff, I have only one thing to say:
    “Step away from the check!” Don’t spend it all in one place!

  4. It was great to spend some time with you last week. Just wish the circumstances were different. The funeral was amazing. John told me afterwards that JR would have liked it. I think he was right. Each person had some great things to share. Things that made us laugh and cry as they remembered JR. It is never easy to speak or sing at funerals, and this was the most difficult I have ever done. Knowing that Jesus was probably sitting there with his arm around JR, made it a little easier.

    Thanks for coming down and thanks for the way you cut through it. I think ‘this sucks’ pretty much summed up the day. You have an awesome talent of explaining things in a unique and very visual way. Continue to use it for His glory.

    bill


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

