Thursday Night. Pascagoula.

John Robert was loved by many. John stood on his feet for two and a half hours, Maggy sitting beside him, near their sons coffin, as several hundred folks filed by to share their grief. Even in the midst of staggering grief they managed to minister to many of John’s friends. Because John and Maggy are like Jesus.

Out of respect for John Robert the coffin was closed. The coffin itself is beautiful. John told me his son would have liked it. I think he’s right.

John also told me that all of the comments he is receiving on his blog are a “lifeline.” Please know if you’ve left him a comment it matters a lot to a grieving dad. You are ministering to the family, one you may not even know, with your words of comfort. Because you are like Jesus. Keep it up.

I want my Memorial Drive family to know I am sharing your love, sympathy and prayers with John and Maggie.

When you hug your children today please think a special prayer for the Dobbs family.

On the road

I left Tulsa around 4 yesterday. This morning I’m on the Memphis side of Little Rock. God willing I should arrive in Pascagoula this evening. John has posted some links about his sons death on his blog. It is so so sad.