Oh yeah…

and another thing.  I used to be a political junkie.  I thrived during an election cycle as they’re called.  However, I’ve progressed in a digressive way.  I don’t suscribe to the weekly news magazines anymore (you can read them for free on-line anyway).  I don’t watch the political gab shout down shows anymore.  Talk radio is out.  The debates no longer interest me.  I simply vote.

No one is to blame except for the politicians themselves, their minions and the news media.  It is a case of the boy who cried wolf.  My first vote was cast for Ronald Reagan in the 1984 presidential election.  “The most important election of my lifetime,” I was told.  Then came 1988.  “The most important election of my lifetime,” I was told again.  Then 1992.  “The most important election of my lifetime,” I was told.  1996.  “The most important election of my lifetime,” I was told.  2000.  “The most important election of my lifetime,” I was told.  2004.  “The most important election of my lifetime,” I was told.  And guess what they are already saying about 2008?  “The most important election of my lifetime,” they are trying to shove down my throat.

Do they think I’m stupid or have no memory?  Here is what I have to say.  The most important election of my lifetime was the day I elected to become a Christian.  And that’s the truth.

5 Comments

  1. I am wth you on the politics

    And the most important election!

  2. Oh yeah, I agree. I am about the same age and I was the same way. I was a junkie and even would argue with CNN all the time. I listened to talk radio more than any sermon. Equates to garbage in….garbage out. Fortunately, I found and Ipod and now I listen to great givers of the word like Trey, John, Randy Harris, Jeff Walling…etc etc. I can’t get enough of these things And they lead me to blogs where I can get even more. No more garbage, just some clean wholesome input.

    Spose there will be Ipods and blogs in heaven? I hope I will be able to keep up!

  3. AAAAAAAMEN!

  4. No blogs in heaven? Tucker, you creator of nightmares, stop that! lol

  5. You always make me laugh – I can see you saying all of this.
    Love you and miss you,
    Billye – Tell the dogs and of course Amy hello for me!!!

    Oh – I got the job!!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment